Fixing Cracks on Kayak

Has anyone here tried this and been sucessful? I have heard JB Weld works or a plastic weld fix. What works best? Thanks

Glass or plastic
What kind of boat are you looking at fixing. Fiberblass or Rotomolded? Where is the hole/crack? What kind of boat? How large is the repair? Hard to provide feedback without some more detail?

Yeah, we need to know the boat material
and the location and extent of the hole. Plastic (polyethylene) boats are hardest to patch, but sometimes can be fixed with plastic welding. West Epoxy also has a demo video of use of G-flex to repair the tail of a kayak that has been sawed off entirely.

Just Fixed Some Cracks in Yak
I used S-Glass, Dynel, and a mixture of West System 105/206 and G-Flex mix. I had to work from the inside out to get all of the cracks sealed. Here’s what I did:

http://scooter-bangortoportland.blogspot.com/2012/10/santee-116-rebuild.html

When I was done, and believe me I am no expert, I took it out for two spins and there was one leak. Just beware that if you want a new look using Dynel leaves a much thicker patch that is hard to sand down smooth but damn it is strong!

dougd

It would be a plastic Kayak
Local float rental is selling about 70 of them like they do every few years. Some have small cracks that need to be fixed but they would be very cheap to buy. I can usually fix most anything but wanted to know what you all use. I have seen plastic welders but haven’t tried one yet. Thanks

What boat?
Find out what the maker and model of the boat is. You are probably talking about a polyethylene kayak but there are different types of polyethylene and repair methods differ.

Most polyethylene kayaks are solid (1 layer) rotomolded polyethylene. Most makers these days use some variant of linear polyethylene, but in prior days some used cross-linked polyethylene and some still do. There is also three layer rotomolded polyethylene which has a foam-like core between two thin solid layers.