Suggestions for first trip

My brother and I are looking to do our first trip, probably a week in duration, so looking for advice on when and where. We are located in NW Ohio, which would make Algonquin and Adirondack roughly the same distance from us (10 hour drive), or we could add another four to five hours to get to BWCA … certainly not limited to those three, but I don’t see us traveling any farther than BWCA.

I’m a school teacher, so we’re limited to the first week of June through the third week of August. My brother and I are both experienced paddlers and campers, but neither of us have done canoe tripping, and probably worth mentioning that we’re both in good physical condition and have the necessary equipment for tripping. Looking for some seclusion, so my research thus far has me leaning toward northern Algonquin. Any advice/suggestions on destination and timing based on this limited information?

Ironic
You’re the 2nd poster that is considering the BWCA. As I replied to the other poster,I am from MN & paddle there many times a year. are you looking to just paddle lakes? Rivers? Or both. The BWCA put in points can be fairly populated in the summer, but once you’ve ventured out a day or so, you may not see another soul the rest of the trip. Self rescue skills are a must.

More info on where in the BWCA you’re looking at would be helpful to suggest entry points / take out points. Since you’re from Ohio, probably an eastern or southern BWCA trip ?? Let me know & I can give you more info.

Here’s