Cold water immersion

It’s important to recognize…

– Last Updated: Jan-19-13 10:26 AM EST –

...that a given person's response can vary dramatically, too. The fact that this guy seemed relatively unfazed does not mean that he would be under different circumstances. There are a lot of variable factors involved.

I'm speaking from personal experience here. I've spent a lot of time in seawater in the 40's and even as low as 30 degrees, without any problems. However, the one an only time I experienced the gasp reflex was in water in the 50's, on a warm day when I was completely relaxed and comfortable.

You can't predict it, so it's best to avoid it as much as possible by dressing properly.

How do you know that the risk is

– Last Updated: Jan-19-13 5:57 PM EST –

"very high"?

And, as a researcher, I *never* gloss over bad interpretations of research results.

See how many on here are willing to be guided by bad studies and limited interpretations.

Being “completely relaxed and
comfortable” is exactly the wrong preparation for withstanding immersion in cold water.

None of my cold water immersions have ever occurred when I was “relaxed and comfortable.”

You’ve often told us about …

– Last Updated: Jan-19-13 6:09 PM EST –

... diving into the pool in springtime to do some kind of job on the drains, but diving in and knowing you will do so is not the same is being dunked without warning or when under stress. Not only do I expect that being in control and prepared for what is about to happen makes one more able to control unwanted inhalation, how does one "gasp" and take in enough water to be deadly when already holding a full breath of air? A person can only inhale "so far".