Alaska trip

Hey I am fairly new to paddling. I’ve done some river trips and found that I really enjoy experiencing the water and nature from a kayak. I’ve decided to plan a rather adventurous trip in the next five years. The goal is to do the Revillagigedo Island Marine Route in Alaska. It’s a 150 mile plus trip. If that goes well I would like to do more in the inner passage. The problem I am having with this is I can look at kayaks all day and not know if what I am looking at is right for me. I am not planning this to be very soon. I intend to take rolling classes and do some longer distance kayaking closer to home as well before undertaking this. For now though I need help in researching and learning what kayaks would suit me for a trip like this. Anyone have any enlightening info for me? Or suggestions in planning a trip like this. It will be my first big adventure so to speak. 20+ days straight. I am excited but also cautious. I want to learn as much as I can beforehand.

Something you might want to consider
if you have never been to Alaska, is prior to your planned trip taking a guided trip up there.

My wife and I did that twice before we went on our own, and in that way you can learn a bit about the weather, and the dangers that you might encounter, which will get you prepaired for your trip which sounds awesome.

Paddlers here can suggest kayaks if you give a few more specifics, such as weight and height. For instance we do long camping trips, and my wife who is 5’-2" and 112 pounds does perfect in her QCC 10X, where as I would need a shoe horn to get into it. She would be lost in my QCC-700.

Good luck and enjoy the planning.

Jack L

AK kayak
For salt water I would think big, like 17 feet or more. A double should be in the 20 foot range. You need seaworthiness, carrying capacity and speed for crossiings. A longer hull is better able to span the troughs between waves. You will have to carry a lot of gear and sometimes freshwater in SE Alaska.