Has definition of kayak "evolved" ?

-- Last Updated: Jan-28-13 12:04 AM EST --

There seem to be items available on the market that
just barely, hardly, attempt to be, a kayak.

Is any floating stiff item = a kayak in 2013 ?
In my opinion , no it isn't.

Where is the line drawn, what are the parameters ?

I came across this today - a 10ft, 3 seater "kayak"
http://store.lifetime.com/products/blt/pid-90121.aspx

In my opinion it's a plastic floating barge platform,
what does it have, making it a kayak ?

Well, it’s a sit-on-top
There are a lot of SOTs that look similar to this, and they seem to be popular for fishing. This one is not a rowboat. It’s not a canoe. Unless we develop a new word for this kind of boat, what else to we call it except a sit-on-top kayak? No, I don’t think “plastic floating barge platform” is a name that will go down in history as the one that sticks.

By the way, I’m not very good with numbers, but I counted two seats, not three.

It’s a 3 seater

– Last Updated: Jan-28-13 12:03 AM EST –

Look down at the bottom where it says "description"
You'll see it listed as a 3 seater model :-)

Maybe it's a kayak because of the double bladed paddle;
--is that about the whole argument for the word usage ?

Various countries interchange canoe/kayak words
to mean the same thing for paddling craft.

No…
It has “de-volved” as a result of marketing, and the sport has no real definition.

Anything that a person can paddle with a double bladed paddle has become a kayak.

Everyone nowadays has kayaked it seems and considers themselves a kayaker, which is okay I guess, but what they are referring to is much different from what many of us might consider “kayaking”

I would consider a true kayak to be something that can be / must be edged to turn, requires a degree of skill to paddle, and is intended to be rolled.

Others will disagree, but that is my opinion.