foot pedal in canoe

-- Last Updated: Feb-06-13 10:03 PM EST --

Hi All, I have been sitting on these foot pedals for a few months. It's time to install them.

http://www.duckworksbbs.com/hardware/canoe-kayak/footbrace/index.htm

I am installing these in my Old Town Discovery 119K. I purchased the glue on stud kit with them. And that's where I am at. I have all the measuring and test fitting and leaning my shoe against the sideing and measuring and did I mention I measured.

What I am trying to determine now is how big of a glass patch I need for the base of the stud. The base measures 1 3/8 across. I am thinking a 4" rounded square around each(not that I have much more available space). Cover the threads, wet the patch, center the patch on the stud and push the patch down and marry it to the side of the hull.

Is one layer of glass enough? Should I put a second smaller layer on to help reinforce the area where the flat of the stud is?

Mike...

P.S. It's actually nylon and not fiberglass.

Just follow the directions
The manufacturer of those things doesn’t want your canoe to be any more messed up than you do.

Why did you get them? I’ve never considered putting foot braces into a canoe, so I’m wondering what benefit is expected from them.

Instructions Lacking
Thanks for the reply, and I agree. I am sure the manufacturer would not want me to mess up my canoe. However, the instructions that came with the kit were lacking. After I posted I did a bunch of surfing. I did find better info on their web page. Just not to the detail of the amount of nylon.

I did decide after surfing that I will use two pieces of nylon on each stud. A smaller piece first and then a larger piece over that. I do not think it will be that big of an issue because the pressure against the pedal will be along the boat and not angular.

As for why foot pedals??? I wanted to be more in contact with the canoe when fishing. And fishing is the main reason for the canoe.