GPS question

All,

I am just getting into kayaking and want to buy a GPS but am not sure what I need. All I want to do is be able to turn on and not get lost in the mangroves or bays of FL.

I was looking at the Garmin 78 and I noticed you can buy something called BlueChart g2. What does that mean? Does the base model not have mapping software already installed on it?

I have tried to find a youtube review of the difference with no luck.

Anyone have some good insight?

Thx

jonpfl

Maps and charts
These are not the same. A marine chart will have things like water depth and navigation markers - buoys, lighthouses etc. On the ocean these are obviously terribly important. In mangrove swamps in Florida - I don’t know. You really need to look at the data you get with each.

Maps are Extra

– Last Updated: Mar-20-13 3:39 PM EST –

Garmin pricing is a bit confusing. For the majority of the handheld GPS units they sell they have a base version which comes with a worldwide base map that is near useless and then other versions which are the mostly the same hardware but different maps are installed.

The codes at the end mean:
T = includes a Topo Map
C = digital camera
S = Compass (I think)

You might want to spend sometime checking out gpstracklog.com -- they have good GPS guides and reviews.

If you are expecting something like a car GPS you might want to read more about handhelds first -- they have a lot more power but are not as simple as a car GPS. If you have a smartphone the free maps apps on them work well enough but you do need to worry about battery life and cell reception.

Generally most people seem to buy the map less versions. There are lots of great free maps on gpsfiledepot.com. I do pay for the Garmin BirdsEye sat imagery and use that in combo with a bunch of free topo maps from gpsfiledepot on my Garmin Oregon 450.

You need the Blue Chart…
if you are going to be out on the Florida coast.

Or you can download Florida Topo at www.gpsfiledepot.com/maps/.