rain jacket essential?

hi guys

i know this a dumb question.

where i live it doesnt rain.

im new at kayaking.

do i need a waterproof jacket and pants?

Where do you live?
I would say that if you live where it rains, or not, no you don’t need a water proof jacket. It might be nice to have one if it does happen to rain when you’re out there paddling, but hey, if it’s also warm–what the heck.

I don’t worry about rain
I don’t worry about rain when I am paddling, as paddling is already a wet sport. Wind, lightning, etc. can be issues, but not rain itself (while paddling - becomes more annoying when you get off the water).

But, is it possible you are looking at something like paddling jacket and calling it a rain jacket? Paddling jackets look a lot like a rain jacket, but have a different purpose (to keep you warm when you might get wet, especially if there is a cooling breeze). Yes, they would help if it rains (and O have worm one off the water to protect from rain more than once), but their main purpose isn’t rain protection.

The goal of your clothing is to stay comfortable under the conditions you may see, including should you accidentally fall in. In my area, the water is generally cold. So we normally wear wet suits or dry suits. Wet suits are good at keeping you warm should you fall in, but are not good at keeping you warm when you are wet and if there is a wind. So a paddle jacket is almost required to help with the breezes.

not dumb, but need more info