Cayak for Cost of Norway

Dear Forum Members,

I am a business trainer from Berlin (http://www.methoform.de) – currently being much too much involved into business :wink: So I was thinking of going for a „kayak expedition“ along the Atlantic coast of Norway up to the very North.

After some weeks of research in the Berlin shops and the internet I have found two kayaks that can also be regularly used with a sail: The Folbot Greenland II (my favorite) and the Triton advanced Ladoga 1 .

Due to the expected rough seas and three to four weeks of kayaking I am looking for (1) stability, (2) space, and (3) the ability to protect the kayak well against incoming water.

Does one of you have experience in using the Greenland II with a sail in rough waters and weather – or would recommend another well fitting kayak for that – and similar following – trips?

Thanks in advance!

Michael

If this isn’t a joke to start with…
Stay home and rent a video about this kind of trip. Anyone concerned with stability as a top priority in a kayak has no business even trying such an expedition unless you have other priorities than surviving it, especially new as well.

Ditto
Unless the OP is a seriously experienced sailor, this post reads like the ominous opening paragraph to a Safety article in Seakayaker magazine that doesn’t turn out well in the end.

What’s a cayak?
I’m thinking Norway must be worth billions, so them cayaks are definitely out of my league.

Some advice
Have you read Jon Turk’s book “In the Wake of the Jomon” … it might be a good idea to give you some feeling for trying to sail a small craft in coastal waters with strong currents created by tides in tight islands and fjords. It sounds like a good idea but it did not work out so well. Also you should see the blog of Klara Jansson & Evelynn Brattström two young ladies from Denmark who made the trip in kayaks.

http://www.norwegiancoast2009.com/norwegiancoast2009/HEM.html