Older Dagger "Crossover" Info Please

I am a beginner kayaker I am about 50 years old and 220lbs. Living in Central PA there is water all around I live near the Juniata and the Susquehanna Rivers, and the Yellow Breeches and Shermans Creek there are also some lakes near by. I would like to find a good used kayak to start with this spring. I plan to run some easy day trips on the local rivers and creeks - probably class 2 and below and due a little on the small lake near my house for fitness and to get practice in paddling. I want something that will track nice and keep up with a group of kayakers on the rivers and creeks.

I found a couple of boats but not sure that they are right for me.

Does anyone know anything about a Dagger “Crossover” apparently they were made in the early 2000s. This one is in very good shape - not used much and then stored for years inside. A neighbor down the road has it. It has a skeg that you can put down - from shore not from the boat - like on the newer boats. It is either up or down. I cannot find out much about this kayak - does anyone one have any information on it? Where they good what are the strengths and weaknesses? Are they a good beginner/intermediate level boat?

I also looked at couple of used Kestrels 12’ and a 14’ with an open cockpit.

Tracking and moving water…
even class 2, these are not thoughts that operate well together. A boat in moving water is best if it is quite maneuverable, in part to keep the paddler out of trouble and in control. Quite maneuverable and tracking well on flat water don’t go together, especially in wind.

You should get a boat and have some fun. You should not expect the same boat to be equally apt in both moving water and on flat water though.

I paddled the ol’ Crossover for years…
put several hundred river miles on it. Good boat for someone your size.