Is the Tarpon 100 a good choice?

Hi, I’m a newbie to this message board but hope to become an active member soon as we are getting kayaks soon.

We are a couple that has kayaked previously, maybe 15-20 times, but not frequently. W’ere finally ready to purchase kayaks of our own. What we know we want is:

sit on top single person kayaks

stable

versatile enough for lakes, bays, ocean coast with some waves, doesn’t need to work in bad weather or far out into the open ocean

should be able to launch off the beach in some surf

should be able to handle light kayak camping - we backpack, so we know our gear total weight is 30-35 pounds per person

Yesterday we did a kayak demo at a local shop and tried out quite a few kayaks, then spent 4 hours paddling around in the two we liked best, switching half way so we each spend about 2 hours in each of those two kayaks, which were the tarpon 100 and the tetra 12. The paddling was in a slough, with some very small waves, but not comparable to coastal paddling which we’ll also do a little of.

We both preferred the tarpon 100 due to it’s stability and less water coming into the seating area.

It’s fairly expensive ($699+tax+accessories) so I want to make sure this isn’t a huge mistake. We tried many kayaks, including the Venus 11, which we both really disliked (way too wobbly and low in the water), the tetra 12, which my boyfriend considered a close 2nd choice but it was less stable and he found it wind-tracked more. We also tried the tarpon 120, but I preferred the smaller feel of the 100 and boyfriend felt that the added speed wasn’t worth the extra $200 in cost.

ANy comments? Anyone know if this will work (doesn’t have to be fast) for coastal paddling (not too far from shore, I get nervous going very far out)? Boyfriend also wants to try freedive/spear fishing off the kayak.

Ages: mid-40’s

Height: me-5’8", boyfriend 6’

Weight: me-145, boyfriend 170

tarpon