Epic Relaxed Touring vs Werner Kalliste

I’m ready to splurge on a high-end paddle and have narrowed my choice to a 220cm Werner Kalliste or the 215-225cm Epic Relaxed Touring carbon. I’ve been paddling a 230cm Werner for the past 10 years, but both the Werner and Epic sites recommend a 215-220 cm paddle for my height, paddling style, etc. I’ve tried my wife’s 220cm paddle and come to the same conclusion.

My dilemma is that there are no Epic dealers anywhere nearby, so I don’t have a chance to get my hands on one to try out. I’m guessing I wouldn’t go wrong with either paddle, but I thought I’d ask the pnet community for input, especially regarding the usefulness of a variable-length paddle. That is, what seems to separate the two paddles is Epic’s Length-Lock 2™ adjustable ferrule. Is being able to adjust the length of your paddle something that’s worthwhile?

Thanks!

David

I have the Epic
Relaxed tour – signature hybrid, or some such. I, too, had been using a 230 cm Werner for years – Camano fiberglass. I finally realized that for my stroke, and migration to narrower boats, and stress on my shoulders, I had to go shorter.

I figured 220 cm was what I wanted, but, I ordered the 210-220 cm, just in case even shorter was even better. So, through a couple of uses, I progressivley shortened to 210 cm, and, that’s all I ever use! I’m very glad I got the adjustable, or, I never would have realized that 210 cm is what I really needed.

Another difference between the Relaxed Tour and Kalliste, is the blade surface area. The Epic is a little smaller, which may be another advantage for shoulder worriers. I’ve swapped with a friend’s 220 Kalliste for a bit. Not sure whether it’s more the length, or partly the surface area, but, I feel a lot more comfortable paddling with the Relaxed Tour – especially paddling aggressively, which I tend to do in mixing things up. Yes, I do get the aggressive/relaxed irony.