Need advice for beginner kayak

Hi everyone,

I recently moved to a house with a nearby small lake and I’m in the market for a kayak. I’ve been out on one a few times before and have really enjoyed it. I’ve been looking at the Potomac pathfinder from Dicks for $199 because it meets a lot of my criteria but there seems to be some mixed reviews of it online. I’m looking for 3 main things in a kayak.

Weight, the lake is short walk from the house less than a quarter mile but I have to store it at my house so something lighter is appealing. In not sure how hard it would be to carry it to the lake.

Size, I’m 6’2 ~ 240 so I want to make sure I can fit into it. It looks like most people say a 10’ boat will be fine.

Price, I’m really just looking for something to go out and splash around the lake on and maybe do some fishing but I’m a beginner at fishing too so I don’t need anything fancy. Id like to stay under $300, $350 tops or ill have to save up for another season. I like the idea of the pathfinder at $200 b/c with 2 very young kids I don’t know how much time I will have to use it. Also $200 leaves some bufget room for paddles jacket, axcesores. I was thinking at $200 I don’t have a huge investment and can “test the waters” if you pardon the pun. If I do get into it, I’d plan on getting a nice boat and having the pathfinder for friends or the kids when they get older.

I’ve looked at a few other entry level and they seem to be about te same or much heavier than I think I would like. Please let me know what you think!

May be a good match
A lot of people buy cheap, not realizing how they will be limited, or that they will probably be buying another boat, later. It looks like you know what’s what. Two things: Verify that your weight is not pushing the boat’s stated weight capacity. And, consider taking a look at used boats; you can often buy more boat for your budget, that way, though the process would take longer.

Thanks!