Wave Sport Ethos - Anyone Tried It?

Based on the feed back here I passed on the Prijon. I went to the outfitter up the road and looked at a Remix XP and a WaveSport Ethos. I need a bigger boat at 6’1" 220lbs. I sat the Remix XP 10 and it sat great but I thought it was huge at 110 gallons. I also sat a Ethos 9 (they did not have a 10) and thought it was just a bit tight but I really liked the boat. Nice outfitting and seemed very well built - pretty heavy. I thought it had more rocker and was more WW oriented p had the foot brace vs the pegs and foam deck support like a WW boat. Since I want this to run some high volume flat water creeks/rivers with some class 1-2 WW I thought the Ethos would be a good choice. There is a fair amount of flat water in these creeks and rivers so the skeg may be nice. I am also going to check out the Pyranha Fusion with Connect 30 and a Pyranha Karnali (left over WW boat from last year this weekend).

Since I am a beginner I want a easy to learn on boat that I can work my roll on - and just have a good time paddling on the rivers and creeks here. Anyone have any thoughts on the Ethos?

Not much help, but
I recently took a look at an Ethos, too. I agree with your general, eyeball impressions. Except, note that the Remix XP does have a foam pillar. If the one you saw did not, then it was either incomplete, or LL has done a model year downgrade that I was not aware of. Best features on the Ethose appeared to be the firewall foot brace, and the ratchet thigh lift. I question, though, having a rope/cleat skeg control. I did not ascertain whether you could actually set it halfway, but, it’s not like you’d really be doing that with this type of boat, anyway. The Remix boats have the best skeg control in a crossover, that I have seen – positive, and not likely to break. The Jackson Rogue has a lockout that breaks. I have not seen the setup on the Pyranha Fusion.

These boats are more WW than Flat

– Last Updated: Apr-17-13 9:06 AM EST –