Eddyline equinox vs. Journey

I am looking for my first Kayak. Currently I have narrowed it down to an Eddyline Journey or Equinox. I am leaning toward the Journey as I like the greater capability, greater speed and much of the stability of the Equinox. I am a beginner who is about 5’9" tall in my mid 50’s and currently 255 lbs (down from 350 in December and working hard to get to 200). I like the larger cockpit of these boats as I am larger but also have a leg swelling problem due to cancer surgery 10 years ago. I will be paddling with my wife (mostly) who is also a beginner and looking at smaller (12ft) kayaks. I will be mostly paddling on lakes, sloughs and local rivers. I realize I have some special circumstances and will be trying these boats out before deciding but thought I would seek the collective wisdom on the listed choices as well as soliciting other possible kayaks I should consider.

Thanks in advance for your input. I have read some older threads on this but thought an update would be useful as new models are sometimes available and due to my special circumstances.

Try before
you buy is the best thing you can do. That way you can see how each fits and feels to you. To me proper fit and comfort is the most important aspect of a kayak.

Good luck

2 very similar boats
I ahve owned a paddled an Equinox for 5 or 6 years and a friend has a Journey and I have paddled it several time. In my opinion, if you were to sit in the two boats with your eyes closed you could not tell the difference. Same cockpit, same seat. When paddling the boats also feel very similar. The Journey seems to be a bit faster. The Equinox will handle your weight but you are pushing the upper weight limit a bit. The only downside I see to the Journey is that it is a 5 lbs heavier and you have another foot of boat to load and unload. I suspect you will be happy with either by there are some advantages to the Journey. Paddle them and see.

David

Hope this helps