Paddle Floats = Fraud?

Greetings All,

I ran across this site while trying to look up an index for Sea Kayaker Magazines (collected enough back issues that I have to start organizing them :slight_smile: )

http://www.sponsonguy.com/DeadlyPaddlefloatFraud.html

It looks like this guy is making the point that the majority of current rescue methods and accessories (eg. paddle floats) are not effective in rough/dire conditions. It also appears several organizations & individuals are involved in “murder”…

I am still relatively new to kayaking and not sure what to make of this. Your thoughts?

Thanks!,

p.s.

Found the Sea Kayaker Magazine Index :slight_smile:

http://www.seakayakermag.com/2010/Jun10/Index136.pdf

Paddle floats are one rescue tool
that individual is engaged in libel and slander. I would never purchase his sponsons.

We have run across him before. Beware anyone who tries to self promote a product by slamming others.

Clearly he has never tried to become educated and skilled in a variety of techniques.

conditions

– Last Updated: Apr-25-13 10:39 AM EST –

Paddle float rescues become more difficult as conditions get rougher. So does EVERY other rescue and self-rescue technique. That's just a fact of life.

A paddle float is a useful tool with limitations.

Your choice of effective rescue tools and techniques will be affected by your body type, size, agility, strength, and skill level. It will vary depending on the boat you paddle, the conditions you paddle in, and the people you paddle with.

Every worthwhile rescue and self-rescue technique requires practice.

Be wary of absolute statements. Be open to new ideas. Try a variety of tools and techniques, and see what works for you in realistic conditions.

What an…
…a$$ monkey. That is the worst product sales pitch that I have ever read. Me thinks that he may end up on the receiving end of a legal event.

No fraud, but a reasonable issue