Bluegill fishing

I am going to go fishing with my son this weekend. This will be his first fishing ever. We will be fishing for bluegills. I bought him an 4.5ft lightweight spincasting rod and reel combo and it’s got 4 lbs test line on it. I am not very good at fishing either and was wondering which artificial lure setup works the best. thanks in advance

Bluegill
THE classic baits for bluegill are a tiny piece of worm, a cricket, or a wax worm/maggot on a #10 Aberdeen hook - but those aren’t artificials.

Get a few 1/16th ounce jigs in white or yellow. You can tip the hook with a Berkely GULP artificial maggot, or one of their tiny 1" minnows. Fish under a small float.

Two tips for fishing with kids: Don’t try to fish yourself - you’ll have a full-time job helping out with casts, tangles, baiting up and unhooking trophy fish. And don’t plan to stay long, especially if the fish don’t cooperate. Kids have an attention span measured in picoseconds, so if he wants to throw rocks or run around instead of holding the rod, let him. And come back another day.

Bluegill Fishing

– Last Updated: Apr-17-13 10:32 AM EST –

For artificials, it's hard to beat a good fly on a fly rod. Bluegills are very enthusiastic on flies. I've always done best with a Black and Orange, or Black and Yellow Chernobyl Ant pattern, but they hit foam spiders and poppers as well. For subsurface, they love small Woolly Buggers.

On a spinning rod, the best blugeill lure I have ever used is a small black and chartreuse grub. Don't use the curly tail ones, because they will just bite the tail off. It helps if you spray some Nightcrawler Baitmate, or other scent, on them.

Use a fly

– Last Updated: Apr-18-13 9:39 AM EST –