Disabled Paddler needs advice

Hi everyone, I am new to this site, but I would really appreciate any advice you folks could offer me.

I am new to paddling, and have so far only gone on single day trips for fun and fishing. BUT I really want to plan an overnight camping trip from my kayak. The only problem is that I don’t know what to do with my wheelchair. I need to find some way to tow it behind my kayak, or other solution. Any thoughts on how to do this? Or on what kind of floatation device I would need?

I thought about having a friend drive my chair from the launch point to the camp site and back, BUT that’s a lot to ask of someone and is terribly inefficient. Also that solution would mean I could only camp at places accessible by road, which would severely limit my options. Also no one wants to go camping with someone that can only camp at a few places, and with lots of help required.

I can’t really leave it behind either as I would need it to maneuver at the site.

Any ideas would be really appreciated.

Thank you for your time!

I don’t see any problem getting …

– Last Updated: Jun-23-13 12:11 PM EST –

the kayak to and from your camp site.
I think the problem would be you getting to and from the camp site once you got there unless there is a very shallow with not much slope beach to get out on.
I assume the wheel chair folds up, and if so just secure it on the back of your kayak.
I have a sea kayak, and have brought lots of flotsam back from various off shore trips in the Florida Keys by tying it on the back deck. One item in particular was larger than a wheel chair, and on six other occasions I brought back large plastic chairs.
I see by your profile that you are in East TN.
If by any chance you will be camping on Watauga Lake or some other place in that vicinity, shoot me an e-mail and I might be able to help.

Jack L

Why not try a canoo?
Lots more room in a canoo than in a 'yak!

FE

thoughts