I picked a paddle, hope its good

-- Last Updated: Jun-29-13 11:48 AM EST --

I debated which paddle to get and did my research. I'm hoping I picked the right one. I'm a beginner and going use it in flat water, recreation use. My kayak (Pelican sit on top strike 100x) is 30 inches across and I'm female, 5'6.

I had it down to Bending Branches whisper 230 cm and Harmony Adventure 225 cm.

I really liked both paddles in my hand. The Harmony was lighter 36 ounces. The Bending Branches was 37 ounces.

My husband thought the Bending Branches seemed more durable and I read a lot of good reviews on it.

So the Bending Branches won. Any opinions from those who have used this one?

I can’t comment on
specific paddle you selected, but I am curious about the length of the paddles you were looking at. I am 6’0" tall and my paddle is 220cm, I have a SinK. Do SOT’s require a longer paddle in relation to the paddlers height?

width of boat
One of the largest factors in choosing the length of the paddle is the width of a boat. a 30" wide kayak will require a longer paddle than a 24" wide one.

Thank you!
I wasn’t aware of that aspect of paddle selection.

why 230 you ask
All the research I did on selecting my paddle said to go by my height and the width of my kayak. My kayak is 30 inches wide as stated in post. That is why I went with a 230 cm paddle.

I would think a 230 cm…
would be just about right for you and your boat. And Bending Branches makes some very nice paddles that represent excellent value.

I’d have made the same choice from your final candidates.

Getting started …
The paddle is fine to get you started paddling and get you out on the water. As you paddle with other paddlers try borrowing a shorter paddle with a fiberglass or carbon shaft and see how you like the performance.

After you have more experience investing in a more expensive paddle that is lighter can really increase your enjoyment, but the paddle you have will be fine.

cant afford