Help Choosing my First WW Solo Canoe

I am a pretty decent beginner whitewater paddler, seeking help/advice before purchasing my first boat. I am a recent ACA tandem level 2 instructor…but this past spring I was able to snag a few days in a friend’s solo boat for the first time, and fell in love.

I’m looking to buy a boat (hopefully used) but am a little baffled on what I should be looking for. I am a small woman, 5’3" and 110 pounds. I have only been paddling for a year and am sticking right now with class 1s and 2s with the occasional 3, but would like a boat that I could grow with. Ideally, I want to find a boat that’s small enough that it will respond well to my smaller size, and also light enough that I’ll be able to transport it without huge hassle (although I’m not a stickler on the last part).

I would love to hear advice/suggestions from other paddlers out there.

You should at least look at the
composite ww boats at millbrookboats.com

Because you are light, you aren’t going to hit things hard enough to do serious damage. Not usually, anyway. I own two Millbrooks, and they are very light. Of the more conventional designs, Millbrook has the Rival. You could call Kaz, designer, builder, racer, and ask him what he thinks. Also, get on cboats.net to tap into more open canoeists.

One other boat: the Esquif Spark is derived from a Millbrook design, and made in a light version of Royalex, the Spark is pretty durable. It will maneuver brilliantly, and if you sit up, the tail will help it track.

some considerations
I tried to respond to this earlier today on a friend’s computer but could not get past his OS (Windows 8).