Newbie!

Hi all! I am relatively new to kayaking and have only a few months ago purchased my first used kayak (Perception Shadow 16.5) after participating in a fantastic guided tour. I have been hitting up mostly our coastal waterways with family and we are looking forward to finding new and exciting places to explore! I grew up in the Mountains where hiking had been one of my passions but since moving to the coast, I’ve felt somewhat lost. Kayaking has invigorated my love for this area and I am so grateful to have “discovered” it. I am looking to meet others of all skill levels to share tips, advice and just share a passion for the water!

Thanks for reading!

welcome
You’ll find lots of good information and good discussion around here. Ask questions and keep an open mind to other peoples experiences and you’ll absorb plenty!

I’m new too!!
I’d always wanted to try kayaking and I just bought my first boat this summer. I’m hooked. I used to mountain bike all the time but kayaking is such a refreshing change of pace. It’s cool the things you get to see that you wouldn’t if you were on land! Have fun!!

Tips / Advice
Be safe. Keep this in mind: What would I do if the boat got knocked over out here so far from shore?

Strive to get your skill level such that you don’t care one bit if it does.

Is your Shadow the plastic one or
composite.

My wife has the plastic and has always liked it, but once made the mistake of demoing a composite one and has always wanted one.

Jack L

Thank you!
Thank you!

:slight_smile: