Launching in New Jersey

I’m new at Kayaking. I see on the map, on this site, that shows launch locations that there are a number of spots near me. I’ve checked on a few of the municipal web-sites and they say that a permit is required to launch any type of “powered or non-powered” watercraft. I assume that includes kayaks. How do I find launch locations that don’t require a launch permit (sometimes costing $100).

Ken C.

Central NJ

Central NJ
I also paddle in Central NJ very frequently and only know of a couple places that require a ramp maintenance permit. You can buy the permit annually for $15. (a fishing license can be substituted for this) The places that require this permit are listed below.

1. Round Valley Reservoir, Angler Access
  2. Assunpink WMA, Assunpink Lake
  3. Assunpink WMA, Stone Tavern Lake
  4. Assunpink WMA, Rising Sun Lake
  5. Dennis Creek WMA, Dennis Creek
  6. Tuckahoe WMA, Tuckahoe River
  7. Mad Horse Creek WMA, Mad Horse Creek
  8. Union Lake WMA, Union Lake
  9. Menantico Ponds WMA, Menantico Ponds
  10. Prospertown Lake WMA, Prospertown Lake

Source: http://www.njfishandwildlife.com/wmaregs.htm

I don’t know of many other places in NJ that require a launch permit. Where were you looking to paddle?

Also, the launch map on this website will sometimes include if there are fees or not for launching.

Ditto
I too paddle central NJ quite a bit and have never had to pay for a permit. Sometimes a place has a day-parking fee (like Spruce Run) but it’s usually not too much considering the services offered.

If you ask for a specific type of water in the area, you’re bound to get lots of suggestions.

NJ Launch sites
http://www.jsska.org/

Raritan River
I’m interested in touring the Raritan River but it appears that most, if not all, the launch sites are municipal boat ramps that require a permit. Is there anywhere else that I can launch on the Raritan which doesn’t require a permit?

Round Valley and Spruce Run