Cape Lookout, NC

Wife and I heading down to NC to kayak out to barrier islands, launch from Harkers Island paddle over to the island , explore camp on beach, any advise from anyone or general info, we have 15 yrs experience, we ,kayaked Ak,ME, Apostle Islands, Everglades and parts unknown, kayaks are 2 Novus Composites (NC) 17’2" extensive gear, safety and otherwise,good to hear from others who have paddled the area, thank you!

I Have Some Experience There
The inlet there (Barden Inlet) has always been pretty kind to me. The ‘hook’ shape of it seems keep the water in check. Beaufort Inlet down at the other end of Shackleford Banks can be really mean when the tide is gushing out.

Camping on the ocean side of Shackleford is very nice. The breeze keeps the bugs away. I’ve seen tents set up on the sound side but I’d avoid it unless the wind was howling. Finding a spot to land on the sound side of Core Banks is very difficult unless you’re up near the lighthouse.

Thanks Kudzu
Thats a big help, we have thought about camping on Shackleford, still going over float plan, thank you!

Lookout Info.
This is a map I use when leading our local meet up group. We paddle this route a couple times a year.

Water conditions vary with tide and wind. Can be tame as a kitten to small craft advisory. Other than the boat channels, a lot of the area is waist deep at best.

Leaving Harker’s, paddling straight across will lead you to a pier on Shackleford Island. This is where the wild horse pen is. You can walk the area. Numerous horses hang out in this area. Also the beach on the other side is a nice view of the bight and lighthouse area.

After leaving the pier, paddling down the island, horse encounters are hit and miss. As you leave the protection of Shackleford, the crossing to Lookout can be playfully fun to a handful depending on the tides, wind and boat traffic.

In the middle of the bight to the left of the lighthouse is an old historic village. Very nice hike.