Help With Seat/Seat Back

Pure novice here. Just purchased an older Perception Sol`e. Got it out on the water this past Sunday. All went well except for the seat back. I have bad back and hips. Hips were ok, while moving, but the back rest, in my opinion sux.

Are there any options as far as replacing or improving the current seat back? I would prefer something higher with more back support.

Also, getting out is a problem. Although I feel that with more time in the boat, practice and watching some “how to” videos, that will get better.

Thanks in advance for all your help and suggestions.

S

That is a nice kayak, but it is small

– Last Updated: Oct-23-13 4:09 PM EST –

You didn't post a profile, but could it be too small for you?
My oldest daughter who is a less then five feet tall has one, and she uses a stadium seat.
I have an Eclipse and my wife has a shadow and they have the same seat.
The back is fine, (except for mine which is so old that it is one hundred percent duct tape) but we both use pads on the seat.

As far as getting in and out: The book method:
1. Pull up parallel to the shore.
2. put your paddle behind the coaming, (behind your back)with it 90 degrees to the kayak and with most of it on the shore, (keep the other end in close to the yak)
3. reach behind you with the hand that is on the deep water side and squeeze the paddle shaft to the coaming.
4. reach out and behind you with the hand that is on the shore side and grasp the paddle shaft
5. Lean back on the shaft and at the same time pull yourself up and back wards until you can get the leg closest to the shore out and onto the solid bottom or shore.
6.then put as much weight as you can on that leg and while still putting some weight on the paddle continue pulling the other leg up and out.
If you are overweight forget all about this method. You will end up breaking your paddle.

My method:
1. Pull up parallel to the shore.
2 lean both hands behind my back and grasp the coaming.