Need advice for a friend.....

My long-time hang gliding buddy, Gary, recently had a kayak fall into his life and he has gotten excited about paddling. He has been out about 8 or 10 times now. He is in his 50’s, fit, athletic, avid skier, etc. I think he is going to put some time into this and work on improvement because that’s the kind of guy he is. With the kayak came a wing paddle and that is the only paddle he has used so far.

I have zero personal experience with a wing. My sense is that a wing is great for speed and power but not so good for boat handling. Since I have no personal experience to base this one I question my own opinion. I’m thinking that I should be recommending that he move to a Euro or Greenland paddle to help him work on his boat handling skills and hang onto the wing for the future? I don’t know.

There are lots of wing-users here and I would like your advice on what I should suggest?

Jon

http://3meterswell.blogspot.com

I would suggest a large euro
In my opinion a large surface area paddle like a Werner Corryvrecken would give a similar feel on the pull, but allow for corrective strokes and catches and give a better feel in general paddling.

From my personal experience bad habits die hard, and a niche paddle could magnify bad habits in attempting to do everyday paddling.

1 Like

what is the boat?
If it’s a fast kayak or a ski, nothing wrong with a wing, although I think the previous poster makes a good point. Perhaps add a euro or greenland paddle.

Wing and “proper” technique

– Last Updated: Oct-28-13 10:26 PM EST –

A wing would actually help you develop better paddling technique compared to a Euro paddle. You can get away with lots of sloppy work with Euro that you will get much more immediate feedback with the wing.

On the other hand, a Euro or GP give more options for stroke development and boat control.