Im 100% new to kayaking-need some advise

Hello everyone! So im brand spanking new to kayaking, so new that i still need to buy a kayak. I currently moved to Del Rio Texas for Air Force pilot training and there are some cool rivers and lakes around. I need some advise on this kayak.

http://www.sportsauthority.com/product/index.jsp?productId=21539706&srccode=cii_17588969&cpncode=35-123040921-2

I am looking at this kayak because I like to fish and its pretty cheap with good reviews. I plan on doing light kayaking, no rapids, just nice calm cruising waters. Something to do on the weekends to get out of the house and release the stress of training. What do you guys think?

Thanks!

Is there one you can look at and sit in
I am reluctant to advise people to buy kayaks mail order unless they have had an opportunity to at least sit in it. If the boat is very uncomfortable for you to get in it you won’t like it regardless of what other virtues it might have.

I have no experience with the maker or the model. It appears to be a typical single layer, polyethylene recreational kayak in the popular 10 foot length, like scads of others. As long as you don’t plan to paddle whitewater in it, or paddle too terribly fast or too terribly far, it will probably suit your needs if you are comfortable in it.

For the price you can’t go wrong
Just make sure there is floatation in both ends.

Keep in mind that it won’t be fast, but many of us here on P-net started with similar kayaks, and once and if you get hooked you can move up to a longer one.

Good luck, and I hope you enjoy it.

Jack L

It is what it is

– Last Updated: Nov-10-13 8:11 PM EST –

Let me start by saying it's very similar to my first kayak and I have a couple similar kayaks in my fleet and they are fine for nice days on the bayous and creeks.