VIDEO: sea kayak sailing

I have edited a short video of the best footage of sea kayak sailing: http://youtu.be/P21uMgpWs3g

I have been sea kayak sailing for 10 years and the last 4 with Flat Earth Sails.

I find the simplicity and reliability of Flat Earth sails suit my needs for sailing with kayaks that are rudderless ( I used to sail with rudder kayaks too but now prefer skeg kayaks).

My favorite sail for winds above 15 knots is the 0.8 m² while the larger 1.0m² is slightly faster only with lighter breezes.

I no longer dread windy days and actually prefer a bit of a breeze since with Flat Earth sails I can sail out and back (wind on the beam, from the side) and not need to paddle at all, if I don’t want to.

On longer trips I find that the sail alleviates fatigue and I can paddle greater distances.

Nice video and…
the sculling and roll with the deployed sail was most impressive.

I’ve been playing around with kayak sailing for a few months now using a WindPaddle Adventure. Fun for downwind runnin’ and I can get about 60 degrees off with it. That Flat Earth rig looks very efficient but probably out of my sailing league. I like the lack of permanent mods to my kayak and the WindPaddle is giving me a bunch of bang-for-buck with my recreational use of the kit.

Thanks for posting this.

neat
As always knarlydog does nice videos.

My only concern would be if you get completely rolled over. It looked like you went only onto your side and sculled up. I wasn’t sure from the video if you went completely over or not If so Iam guessing you cant do a regular sweep roll but a sculling roll as its much slower is your only option?

Oh I went to Flat earths website and clicked on order for usa/Canada and blank page comes up. I was curious how much they cost? If I click on UK or Australia you get a page with info but nothing for USA/Canada.

Savannah Canoe and Kayak

– Last Updated: Nov-12-13 3:33 PM EST –