Beat up Wenonah adirondack

Hello. This site is a wonderful resource! I’m glad I found it.

I have the opportunity to buy a VERY used '96 wenonah adirondack canoe for $250. There are some areas that have exposed fiberglass and a few areas of questionable patches, but it doesn’t leak. It is outfitted for racing with padded contoured seats and foam drink holders. Also comes with 2 foam core bent shaft paddles.

This would be my first canoe purchase. I’m a beginner/intermediate paddler. I’ve probably paddled 500 miles in my life thus far.

My wife and I would use this canoe to take to local lakes and to weekend campouts. A buddy and I have also been toying with the idea of competing in the Texas water safari next year.

Would you buy this boat if you were in my position?

I might offer $200
and see what happens.

From the pictures so far as I can tell the damage appears mostly confined to the gel coat, although in one photo it looks as if one aluminum gunwale has a crimp, but that might be an optical illusion.

I see what appears to have been an effort to cover some gel coat damage at the stem by slopping something on and painting over it. Is that what you are referring to as “questionable patches”?

If the hull is basically intact you can probably make the exterior look a lot better with only a modest investment. I would start by wet sanding the whole exterior with waterproof paper, starting with 180 grit or so and working down to 1500 grit and take off any material that has been applied that sticks up proud of the adjacent hull. Once you have done that you can fill in any deep gouges and areas of broken off gel coat using a gel coat repair kit such as this one:

http://www.jamestowndistributors.com/userportal/show_product.do?pid=2997&familyName=Evercoat+Gelcoat+Repair+Kit

That is only one example. There are a wide variety of polyester gel coat repair putties on the market. You won’t get an exact color match, but I wouldn’t worry about it.