Help Please

I have never kayaked before, I have always been an outboard motor guy. As a kid I would paddle the skiffs around my grandparents ponds fishing but that is the extent of my paddling expertise. As I get older I realize that the outboard motor, well the only excercise I’m getting is the pull to start the dang thing. I usually end up poling the boat to sneak up on fish.

The wife and I started Rving full time and it would be a bit hard to get my power boat in the RV so I decided I would build a coule kayaks so we could enjoy the water. I bought two plans from CLC one 10 ft wood duck and one 12 ft wood duck. I figured that they were beamy enough to be stable for a couple beginners.

I dont like buying anything I like to make what I use. I am a boat carpenter and I have a couplewooden push poles I had made and now want to turn them into double paddles. My question is the kayaks have a beam of 30 inches, my wife stands about 5ft 2 and I’m about 5 ft 9. I have read paddle lengths are around 220-240 cm which is about 6ft 9in would those be about correct lengths for us?

Any and All responses are welcome

thank you

Try some sizes or make your own
I would suggest building the boats and then taking them to a locale that rents kayaks and trying a couple of sizes of rental paddles. 240 cm is awfully long for anyone under 6’ tall BUT if a kayak is beamy and deep in the cockpit, a shorter person may find that they need a longer than standard paddle, depending on their paddling style, to avoid banging knuckles on the deck. I’m a shortwaisted 5’5" and use a 213 cm paddle with most of my narrow boats (21" to 23"), but I have one that is 28" wide and deep in the hull where I find I need a 230 cm.

A few lessons are always a good thing – paddling a kayak is not as intuitive as people think. I floundered for a couple of years before a few hours with a patient instructor showed me how easy and powerful my paddling could be with the right form.