Beginner Canoe Camping Trip in Maine

I am a beginner canoe camper and looking to go on a trip for a few days/nights this summer with my wife. We were thinking about tackling the Allagash but after doing some research I think we’d be better off with a trip closer to home (we’re in southern maine), less expensive and more forgiving of beginner errors. We have all the gear we need, where might we go?

Consider the
Bow Loop on the Moose River. There is a thread on this forum now.

Peter

what canoe do you have?, tent/bags or

– Last Updated: May-08-14 11:18 AM EST –

(check out NMW website for campsite/fees)..looking for lodging? Nice ponds(small/med size) w/lodge(cabin) often work out for starters to canoe/trips, but if you're used to moving water(kayakers?) and learn your strokes..the Seboomook section of W.Br. of the Penobscot oR some portion of the Allagash route to the north, but the previous choice of the Moose R. Bow Loop is a good one.

Donnell Pond

– Last Updated: May-08-14 11:02 PM EST –

Camping at Donnell Pond is free and there are some attractive sites. Reviews indicated that it can be rowdy on weekends. I was there midweek in April and it was very enjoyable. You can combine Donnell Pond with a stop at Acadia, which is only 30 minutes away.

Look at the western Maine lakes, such as Richardson. There are launches at the north and south ends of Richardson. There are some beautiful campsites on Richardson. There is a nice site on an island at the north end, only about a half a mile from the launch. From there you can explore the north end of the lake and some lovely beaches on the west side.