Anybody use a fish finder?

HI,

I’m new to kayak fishing (have a friend who’s a year or so ahead of me in it and last year I got started myself). Do many of you use a fish finder at all? Or is that considered cheating among the more serious fishermen… My buddy and I are going to pick one up to take out next spring just to for a bit of fun and I’m looking online at some now. Thinking of ordering this Fish Hunter one, anyone have a recommendation on it?

http://www.fishhunter.com/

It’s a new type in that it works through your iphone (don’t worry, comes with watertight phone case). It has a gps app to pinpoint good spots and some other cool fishing features. Honestly I will probably give it a whirl anyway since it’s only 200 bucks between the two of us and looks fun, but still just wondering if there are any reccos out there.

Using fishfinders is not cheating in my
book. In fact, it helps one to target the specific fish they are interested and minimize bycatch. I use an old portable hummingbird fishfinder for saltwater fishing here on the west coast. Its crude but it gets me to the structure or helps me locate schools in the water column.

$200?
You can get a used portable fishfinder for a lot less than that. $20 or $30 at yard sales and Craigslist. Heck, I got one given to me a month ago. With those, you don’t have to risk dropping your iPhone over the side.

• Big D

Here is my setup…
Total cost was a little under $200 I think. PiranhaMAX from Walmart, about $150. 12V alarm system battery from Home Depot, about $20 and watertight box for battery about $10.