Inflatable PFD? Yay or Nay?

Hello there! Looking for some advice from some seasoned Kayakers! I’m fairly new to the sport and am looking into inflatable life vests. I’m a decent size gal with a fairly large chest and HATE the bulkiness of any life vest that I’ve ever tried. I feel that my movement (and comfort) is significantly limited by every one I’ve ever tried and the idea of a smaller inflatable option appeals to me. I’m wondering what folks would recommend as far as brands and models go? I notice there are auto, manual, and combo auto/manual options out there. I don’t like the idea of my vest inflating if I tip my yak in the pond but I also want to be safe in the event I would be knocked unconscious and need the auto inflate feature. Looking for thoughts on brands, models, anything really, that anyone with any experience could share with me!

Thanks in advance!

Sara

How far and good can you swim?
How big is the pond you’re paddling in?
What water temps will you paddle in?
What PFD,'s did you try?
How are you thinking you’ll be knocked out?

My wife and I bought Hobie branded inflatables for our first PFDs 5 years ago or so. I think that they’re fine for use with an SUP or in hot weather on very calm and sheltered water as long as you’re within easy swimming distance from shore. But if your interests in kayaking develop you’ll want a regular PFD and your inflatable will end up like ours hung on coat hangers in our garage for the last 4 1/2 years.

My wife is also large chested and tried a lot of PFDs before she found a women’s specific Astral that fits her reasonably well. It took her a while to get used to it but now she doesn’t think about it and we’ve never gone back to the inflatables. Many of the women on this forum also prefer Astrals. I suggest you check them out…

https://www.astraldesigns.com/shop/paddlesports/womens