Tied Up With Leaders

I’m fishing in northern pike country. I’ve tried a variety of leaders, but feel like they inhibit my catch of other fish. I don’t really target pike, they are more of a nusance unless I’m just hungry. The outfitter I’m using this year recommends 12" steel leaders, but doesn’t specify color or weight. He also recommends 14 lb. Fireline, which also seems heavy. Any suggestions? I use soft baits and a spinning rod. Thanks.

Well, I’m not a pro at this by any means, but I have some thoughts about it. I personally don’t think super-thin leaders reduce strikes all that much, but I shy away from traditional steel leaders which are quite thick. If you get steel leaders having a strength of about 18 pounds or so, they will be as thin or thinner than your traditional monofilament fishing line. I use dark-colored leaders, mostly because in the super-thin varieties, all choices seem to be dark. I feel pretty safe with that, though, like you, I’ll skip the leader if I’m not going to need it. I don’t think fish have any comprehension of what a fishing line is in the first place, but some are definitely finicky about such things if not actively feeding (big carp are notorious for this), so better safe than sorry. Still, when it comes to artificial lures that are retrieved fairly steadily, I can’t believe the leader makes a bit of difference.