Solo River Tripping Canoe Recommendation

I’ve looked at several canoes and narrowed it down to 2, the Nova Craft Supernova and the Northstar Phoenix IXP. They are comparable in price, yet I’m not experienced with the materials (Tuffstuff and IXP layup). I’m heading on a walkabout to Canada and Alaska with my mut. My fleet is mostly lake trippers and a Royalex tandem Prospector, so before pulling the trigger based on specs and advertising, I’d like to get some first hand advice. Thanks in advance.

If you can find a Swift Raven in Rx on the used market that is a contender. High volume wilderness river tripper

I’m stuck between these two myself, and have no realistic hope of being able to check either out in person.
Can anyone offer some insight into the difference in performance of these two boats, particularly while loaded to +/- 300 lbs. Is either drastically better or worse in whitewater or calm water?

I am not familar with the Supernova, and have never paddled the Phoenix, but I have done some tripping in my 14’ Yellowstone Solo (ABS) and Wildfire (whitegold), which are similar. I load them down pretty heavy, and they have been fine.

Crossing Holeb Pond - Erik

On the Supernova are you looking for the length or the rocker? For 15’ boats, the Swift Osprey and Hemlock SRT are pretty popular around here. Maybe they are not available where you are. Load the boat down and the rocker on the Supernova is not going to make much difference anyway.

The main sell on the supernova, for me, is the extra freeboard. I’ll be doing river trips up to a week in the AL GA TN area. Really want to be able to run as many of the rapids as practicable.
For me, if the Supernova is markedly better in whitewater and even close on the flats, it would be my choice, whereas if the Phoenix is pretty close in the rough stuff and way better on the flats, she’d be my daisy.
If there’s not a discernible difference between the two either way, I definitely want the Phoenix.