Finding the right kayak

Hi. I am new to the discussion process, but I am looking for the right kayak. I am looking for a sea kayak I can handle in the wind.
I am 109 lbs. 5’4”, and plan to do both day long and full weekend touring.
Several people have suggested I would likely do well with a Pilgrim LV or an Avocet LV. I am looking for ideas, and someone who might be selling one of those boats.
Thanks for any help!
Barbara

Where are you?

Lake Placid, Florida

Also spend summer in Maine

Are there other kayak models I should be looking for?

I currently own a Hurricane Tracer165 which is a nice kayak but has too much sail surface for me.

You might check with Sweetwater in St. Pete they are a Valley dealer. I have bought from them… good people.
https://sweetwaterkayaks.wordpress.com/

Just as a thought, there is a Superior kayak sparrow hawk LV for sale in the classifieds. If the maps are correct, it may be a couple of hours away from you if you wanted to see if the owner would allow a test paddle.

@Barbara H said:
Are there other kayak models I should be looking for?

Current Designs Prana LV, Sisu LV, or P&H Cetus LV are other options. As to finding boats to try, look for upcoming symposiums. They generally will have demos to try and sometimes to sell on the spot.

Good luck in your search. I know from experience how frustrating it can be.

Do you prefer composite or plastic?

On the Avocet LV you mentioned, the composite version is supposed to be a better fit for smaller paddlers than the plastic version. The Avocet is no longer made - I believe the Valley Sirona line is the replacement, but not sure about how well they fit smaller paddlers.

Some smaller people kayaks (based on what my 5’1" 110 lb girlfriend likes):
Jackson Journey 13.5 (day touring - might not be enough storage enough for your camping)
Valley Gemini
Sterling IceCap (very expensive)

Most any boat with an LV designation might be worth trying.