Kayaker/Student designing a paddling mobile app - hoping for your input

Hi there! I am a UX student/Kayaker who has chosen for her last assignment to design a mobile app geared towards kayakers, canoeists, and paddle boarders of all levels of experience. I created a 10 minute survey to try to figure out what information and features should be included. If you have a few minutes free, do you mind taking the survey. Your answers are totally confidential. Many thanks in advance!! Here is the link: https://cindyfarruggia.typeform.com/to/i9js7k

An App? Really? Humans have been paddling kayaks and canoes for approximately 40,000 years - no App required. Most people I know get out on the water to get away from technology. I’d choose a different project.

Nice survey Cindy!

Good luck with your project.

(As a retired software engineer/IT exec and avid kayaker I embrace technology!)

@SeaDart said:
An App? Really? Humans have been paddling kayaks and canoes for approximately 40,000 years - no App required. Most people I know get out on the water to get away from technology. I’d choose a different project.

Amen brother! Or sister, what ever the case may be.

Good survey Cindy, well done!

Gosh, I use technology whenever I paddle, be it weather, wind or map apps. Also always use my Forerunner to track my speed, distance, etc. And my iPhone for photos.

Agree the survey was well presented.

Me too Rookie. I’ve been paddling for over 35 years, way before apps and smartphones even existed, but I really appreciate having them available now. Most used are probably my tide app and my excellent marine chart app ("IsailGPS). “Windy” is handy as well. My Coast Guard app comes along for the ride at no extra cost or weight penalty. My commercial boat traffic app is just plain fun (e.g., for identifying cargo vessels, where they’re going and other related stuff) if you like that sort of thing (which I do).

Yeah, apps are pretty handy when planning trips at sea. Full support.