Complete Noob here - seeking advice

Greetings! I’m new here, but entirely new to paddling. Have used canoes and kayaks for years, but never owned one.

I’m looking to get kayaks for my wife and me. Our goals are fitness, but also to enjoy river and lake paddling with some possible camping involved. However, MOST trips will be just day trips.

I’ve seen the long and narrow kayaks, the shorter/wider kayaks, and everything in between.

How do I know what kayak is best for us? Cockpit style (sit-in) or sit-on? Long vs short?

Most of our paddling with be with little current (hopefully) with the intent being casual paddling to enjoy nature, photography, and time together.

We are both the ‘captain’ type so separate boats is the way we want to go. Having owned sailboat, we know that we can’t both be captain or in charge of our boat unless we are the only one on them. :slight_smile:

If I look at used kayaks, are there particular things I should note when looking one over?

Like I said, a total noob here. I know I’ll get the ‘get brand X or model Y’ from some and that’s okay, but I’m really wanting to get a feel for what kind of design and features I should be looking for when getting a kayak.

Thank you all for any input. If there’s another thread for this, please let me know and I’ll go dig some more.

-Paul

Well…
As you might expect, this is a hard question. Some first steps toward answers…

The kind of boat you want depends only entirely on what you want to do with it. Will you find yourself in wind or waves? Are you 100% sure you never will? Do you want to learn re-entry techniques for sit-ins or scrap all that and go SOT? Do you plan to paddle in the cold?

Try out as many boats as you can. This may be hard to do given geography. Still, it’s the cheapest/easiest way to find out what you like and what you don’t.