Entry Level Kayak - Your Advice Please

-- Last Updated: Jul-09-11 10:26 AM EST --

Hi folks, I'm a beginner paddler and am looking to buy an entry level kayak, mostly for river paddling (flat water, no rapids).

I'd like to find something in the $500 range, sit-in, with a larger cockpit. I'm 135 lbs, 5'6" and drive a Jetta Sportwagen. I have some concerns about getting the kayak on top of the car by myself, so hope to find something 50 lbs or less. I also have an '83 Land Cruiser, so I suppose I could throw it in the back of that, but the LC is a gas hog and would prefer using the Jetta for transport.

Any recommendations? I've been looking at the Old Town Vapor, and the Ascend that Bass Pro sells. I've read here that the Pelican's aren't the best quality, so have ruled out that brand. REI, Dick's, Gander, Bass Pro, and Appomattox River Co. are all pretty nearby.

Thanks in advance for your help!

size

– Last Updated: Jul-09-11 12:04 PM EST –

At your weight you should be looking at "smaller paddler" boats. A kayak designed for a typical(larger)adult will be harder for you to paddle, especially in wind and waves.

Something like the Perception Tribute 10 might be a good fit for your needs.

Make sure that your paddle is also sized for you instead of an "average" adult paddler.

I'd start at Appomattox.

Second that motion
Yes, go to Appomatix first! Go to the pros. Skip Dick’s entirely. REI is probably okay - at the one near me, the paddling section is staffed by experienced paddlers. Don’t know about Gander. But do yourself a favor and only deal with salespeople who know paddling. How can you make an informed decision without being informed?

Oh yeah…
and also read through the threads here because there are lots and lots of “beginner kayak” questions. There should be a sticky on this subject, really.