Plenty of Questions From a Complete Newb

My wife and I have been discussing kayaks. We have probably about a $300 price range, and here’s what we’d like in a Kayak:

We each want one. We’d like to be able to carry both on a Thule rack on our Prius.

We’d like them to be on the biggish side, as each will also hold about 30 pounds of gear and 70 pounds of dog.

The gear is our camping gear, as we’d like to be able to kayak someplace and do some camping. We have some really good lightweight backpacking gear, so it’d be pretty minimal.

We would also be interested in fishing from the kayaks, if possible (but wouldn’t bring the dogs on a kayak fishing trip.)

So… I think that’s all our ‘requirements.’ We were interested in knowing if anyone could give us some advice about any kayaks that might meet all these. Someone brought up the idea of inflatable kayaks… dunno anything about them, but it’d be easier to transport in our little Prius (I’m assuming?) Any help would be greatly appreciated!

If the kayaking part of your adventures
are not too distant, or are on slow moving water, a used, better quality, large cockpit recreational yak may work for you. Something like a CD Kestrel OC, or the like. May keep the pups forward enough and away from your paddling, and with something like a section of cheap yoga mat to grip and sit on they may stay still. Would rent a couple of this style yak first to try it out with them though. A bigger single or small tandem sit-on-top could also work but they are not always easy to paddle any distance and are pretty heavy. Just thoughts. R

One example that may work
http://eastnc.craigslist.org/boa/2396801487.html

dogs
I can’t imagine a world in which I would want a seventy pound dog in my single kayak. I just don’t see how that would work. And since you have two I don’t think a tandem would hold two seventy pound dogs. Maybe I’m just not getting it. Good luck.

Ryan L.

Dogs
Should clarify: