Stability

-- Last Updated: May-27-07 10:59 PM EST --

Greetings. Sorry if this has been asked just under a million times, but as a beginner I guess part of paying my dues is going through the "dumb question stage".
My son bought an Old Town Guide 14 today and I helped him (father's rights) out with it this afternoon. We chose the Guide for both price, weight, life span and advertised stability.
I am very surprised as to how "tipsy" it feels to me. Before my wife and I go out and also buy our own canoe, could you recommend a model that is:

a. Affordable, meaning not hand assembled in Switzerland by devoted monks of the canoe faith. Under $1,000.
b. Light enough to be carried by a middle age man without the use of either slaves or an all terrain crane. Under 70 lbs.
c. Stable enough to cast a fishing pole, or yard a lab back on board without running through two rosaries and three hail Mary's. To be used on lakes, and up to class II.
d. Will hold up well enough for the occasional bump on the rocks and ultra violet degradation.

Thanks for the input. I'm sure I just opened up a can of "Ford vs. Chevy vs. Dodge" worms, but I have to start somewhere. The obvious solution would be to rent one of each model and try them out, but there are not many rental shops around here that have canoes let alone different models.

Goshawk

A couple of suggestions:
I won’t give advice because I too am a newbie. But I know what people will ask you so here are some things for you to add:

1.) “Affordable” is relative. What’s your budget, or at least what is the max you’re willing to spend?

2.) Most important, where are you going to canoe? Whitewater, fast rivers, slow rivers, flat water (lakes), big water (waves and wind).

3.) Will it always just be you and wife, or are you planning on a third passenger occassionally or regularly?

I’m sure there will be more questions from the “experts” but this will give them a basic understanding of what you’re looking for . . . .