whats a good kayak for a guy that

weighs 292lbs, I am new at this, have not bought one yet, but looking

Depends on how ambitious you are
and what you intend to use it for. There are kayaks for guys your size (height will help determine which ones to look at, if you could provide it). It’s just not possible to make recommendations without a little more info.

We’ll want to know if, for example, you are looking for a SOT (sit-on-top), a SINK (sit-inside-kayak), whether it’s for fishing or leisurely outings around the local pond, or whether you’re looking for an ocean going machine that will take you through the advancing levels of sea kayaking.

For starters, you’ll want to check out Wes Boyd’s site, which contains excellant information for the larger paddler:

http://www.kayakplace.com/bigguy/bigguy.htm

http://www.kayakplace.com/bigguy/bigguy.htm

Sit in ? Try Dagger Blackwater 12.5
solid performing rec kayak with a skeg. I’ve been on a few river trips where newbees paddled this boat. It is fast, stable, very safe boat that won’t break the bank.

http://kayakcanoe.com/Blackwater125.html Should be able to find one on sale about now.

try a Wilderness Pungo
Be careful, some of the boats do not hold as much weight as they say they do. Be vary of Perception boats weight capacity ratings, my experience tells me that their capacity claims are a hoax.

My Pungo holds me well and my weight is about the same as yours (some weeks more and later some less than yours). I’d recommend you get the longer one if you can, the longer and sleeker the faster you can travel.

2 Excellent Choices
I am also a big guy, weighing 270 Lb. I owned these two choices, so I speak from experience.

If you need to watch your dollars, an Old Town Adventure XL-139 is a great Poly kayak for your weight. It will handle up to 345 Lb. it has a comfortable seat, and two important bulkheads & hatches for dry storage and flotation.