What's too cold to paddle?

I’m new to drysuit paddling. If you are on movung rivers, class 1-2, what is your personal "it,s too cold to paddle water/air temps?

for me
It’s hard to have fun below 20 degrees F and between 20 and 30 I like to have some sunshine. If there is zero wind that helps. True bliss starts around 40.

When de Spam freezes
.0000000000000000000001 above absolute…

FE

We paddled at 9 degrees
With wind, it was also our shortest trip. At that point I think it was as much for bragging rights as for having fun.

One thing we didn’t plan for, my hatches froze shut. Had I needed my dry or emergency gear it would have taken longer to get to.

Be careful and enjoy, remember below freezing there’s a good chance it’ll be mosquito free ;o)>

Randy

used to be 22 degrees F
This year I’m going hiking instead unless we’ve got 30 plus and sun.Can’t for the life of me recall why I termed this a “nice day.”

http://good-times.webshots.com/photo/2271214650094366337CmwFRY

Seems like most of my paddling albums are taken during cold weather. Got to admit, it is special; no fishermen,newbies, drunk renters, just self sufficient nut cases…

When my face hurts…

– Last Updated: Jan-18-09 12:11 PM EST –

its too cold to paddle. Wind has as much to do with it as the air temp. 30's if its windy, 20's if its not. You know its too cold when you feel it.

Self sufficient nut cases....I resemble that remark ;-)

By the way - how do you like the new WW boat?

10 below’s my limit
for predicted low of the day. However, it needs to be daylight, little wind, and no precipitation. Much below that and I worry about damaging the boat while transporting it. But I think you have the right idea with your question, what’s a personal limit. If it’s too cold, no matter what other people are doing, don’t go. I love winter paddling so I’m out often.

I have a wetsuit,
so I have higher standards (so to speak). I need water in the 40s and temps in the 50s with at least some sunshine.