A BACK FRIENDLY way of LOADING/UNLOADING a KAYAK/CANOE...

This is ONE of the easiest ways to load (and unload) a kayak on TOP of a Car, SUV, or Truck by YOURSELF. (In photo # 1, note that my Yakima bars are offset outward to the right and that I am using a taught 9’ NRS cinch strap) A sequence of 8 photos follows - Click on each of these LINKS in order: http://share.pho.to/B1560/ko/original , http://share.pho.to/B156D/bp/original , http://share.pho.to/B156L/he/original , http://share.pho.to/B156X/vp/original

I am new in kayak and I am very interested in your rack extension at front. Could you tell me where I can buy it?

What is your boat?

That seems like a reasonable alternative to the common practice of running the boat up from behind the car, using a piece of carpet to protect it. One danger of your method is the possibility of whacking your head on the bars when entering or exiting the vehicle. That’s why extension bar systems are typically retractable.

I created/made that myself some 15 years ago…

Re: bnystrom (above):>
Only 5 or 6" of offset (of the Yakima Bars) to the right beyond the factory roof rack is needed.
I have more (10") because it works superbly well… Also note that the front of my Yakima Rack
is even with the Back of the right front passenger door frame of my Subaru Forester – making it
impossible to ‘whack’ the head of a passenger riding with me. Take a 2nd look at all the photos!

Re: string (above) My Little Wing 12.5 one of only three 29# Fiberglass kayaks made by Warren Light Craft some years back…

Good idea. I like it.

Jon
Http://3meterswell.blogspot.com

Jon: I’ll be recommending your Http://3meterswell.blogspot. com to my friends.
In an earlier life I worked for Mt. Baker National Forest out of Bellingham
and also three very interesting years for Boeing in Renton (as a AOG - Airplane
on Ground - parts expediter) before becoming a Park Ranger with Oregon