A kayak stability question

Okay, let’s go through these sequentially. BTW, thanks for the replies.

DrowningDave: The kayak is about a week old and has never been stored outside at all. So I’m thinking warpage isn’t an issue.

Celia: The wind, when there was some, was coming more or less toward me from the front while I was doing the steps Nickcrowhurst listed. I noticed the inability to keep the kayak on course both in that situation, during/after my adjustments, and also when I was paddling back upriver, when the wind would’ve been at my back. It was a very slight breeze, FWIW. And the river has basically no discernible current where I paddle.

magooch: I’ve been paddling for about four years now, quite a lot. So I’m familiar with the requirement to asymmetrically paddle at times. I was using the skeg off and on during this afternoon’s paddle, mostly fully deployed when down, but toward the end I started experimenting with just partially. I can’t say I noticed a lot of difference in how the boat stayed tracking straight. As I mentioned, it DID create a lot of resistance when I tried to edge the boat back on course, however.

Overstreet: I’m not familiar with anything about sailing, but your statements make sense. My only question would be, why would I not experience these things when I paddled my 12-ft Pungo? It seems to me (and I could be totally wrong here) that a wider, more piggish boat would be pushed around MORE by the conditions you mentioned, no? I thought half the point of a sea kayak’s hull design was its ability to track straight?