1 or 2 Person Kayak

Hi There - I am looking for a kayak for our cabin on a fresh water lake. I am a total beginner but am excited to spend some time on the water!

Costco is currently offering 2 Pelican Kayaks. One is a single person “sit-in” model, and the other is a “sit on top” that holds two people.

Why should I consider sit-in vs. sit-on-top?

The 2 person seems to make sense so there are options, but can you have a two person kayak but only use it for one person? Is the weight of the kayak to heavy for one person to paddle?

I appreciate any advice.

J

reviews and weight

– Last Updated: Mar-18-07 2:25 PM EST –

Here is a link to read about Pelican yaks.

http://www.paddling.net/Reviews/showKayaks.html?manf=127

Weight of course would play a factor when transporting out of the water. I will let others discuss soloing in a two seater but it can be done. I read others do this in Old Town's.

Sit-in vs. Sit-on