1100 mile trip for Education - Need Boat

I’m beginning to plan a solo trip following the Little Tennessee River system to Mobile and need some help finding a boat. The idea is to complete this trip next summer as a project to raise money and awareness for scholarships directed to teaching as a profession. After a career of paddling/guiding and teaching paddling I’m now a teacher. Our area is one of the poorest in NC and I’m hoping that through sponsorships and pledges for donations that I can raise money in support of scholarships for those students who want to pursue teaching as a profession.

My problem is that there is no way that I can afford a Kruger, but that is the ideal boat for me to complete this challenging trip.

If there is anyone out there that has one to loan, or a direction to point me, please let me know.

Might as well ask for a lamborghini
to get you to the put in as well. I wish you luck in your pursuit but I doubt you will find a lot of people loaning $4000 canoes to strangers.

GK would do it
in his 12 footer.

If you can’t afford the boat

– Last Updated: Aug-07-08 9:19 AM EST –

then you can't afford to do what you want. You are in for a financial shocker.

...and this is the voice of experience talking.

Do you really have any idea how expensive this project is going to be? Are you prepared for the publicity? If you don't get publicity then the only money you raise will be money you garner by contact. Publicity is hard to get and it takes an enormous amount of time. Each writer will want to interview you and each will consume at least half an hour. Hundreds of hours will go into interviews but you have to work to get the interviews by generating a colorful public interesting story.

What makes this a public interest? Are you doing something that hasn't been done before? Paddling 1,000 miles on the Tennessee River to Mobile in a Kruger Seawind isn't that big of a deal so you'll need something catchy.