1983 Wenonah Jensen 18'...should I buy?

I have a Old Town Penobscot 16 in the 3 layer poly hull. Its fine and all but is 76 lbs…

I could get a 1983 Jensen 18’ in tuf weave hull that has been restored to near new condition. The guy just replaced the gunwales and seats, added a custom center seat that uses the yolk as the front brace, and refinished the hull. He said he had a buddy at an auto body shop sand the hull and paint it with automotive paint.

So, Im curious how tuf-weave hold up after 30 years? is it/will it be brittle? Is the paint going to be a pain in the neck? he made it sound like a bonus because you can touch it up but im skeptical. Has wenonah changed the construction over the last 30 years? Other thoughts?

I’d trade him my canoe+$400-500. Is it worth it? My ideal canoe is a spirit II in tuf weave I think…

I will be mostly going down slow rivers and small-medium lakes but would like to be able to take it up to the BWCA next year.

Thanks!

Jenson
I used to own a Winnona Sundowner, which was almost a copy of the Jenson 18. Lovely fast boat, state of the art in it’s day. Great for touring as well as day trips. The automotive paint is probably a two part urethane like Imron. I built a wooden kayak and had it painted with Awlgrip, a similar paint designed for boats as opposed to cars. The two part urethanes are in many ways tougher than gelcoat, but in my experience, I’d rather have gelcoat. It could be that the substrate of my boat was too soft though; I filled the weave of the cloth with microballoons and mixed the stuff as light as I could and still spread it. If you treat the boat with respect, it’ll prob be fine though.

Brittleness is not an issue. But

– Last Updated: Mar-30-12 1:52 PM EST –

if the boat was used hard, then there will be some loss of strength in the laminate. Probably not enough to matter to you.