1986 Clipper Scout Canoe - Good Canoe?

-- Last Updated: Oct-23-14 11:09 AM EST --

I'm a novice looking for advice from the group. I have the opportunity to purchase an old Clipper Scout in fiberglass. It appears to have been out in the weather quite a bit but shows little damage other than fading. The hull has scratches but no damage. I'm looking for a multipurpose recreational boat for flat water and slow river use. I would like to solo some but tandem use would likely be the majority. I'm 6' 186 lbs. My wife is about 140 lbs. The seats are tractor style so it would likely need a bench to use it solo. I can purchase it for $250- no paddles. Would this be a good deal? Thanks to all of you that take the time to weigh-in!

Looks like a winner
You can’t go wrong for $250 and it looks like a good boat. Even if it doesn’t work out for your intended purposes you should be able to get all your money back out of it, if not more.

Alan

Clipper Scout of old

– Last Updated: Oct-23-14 7:28 PM EST –

Thanks Alan, The only issue that concerns me is possible UV damage to the hull. Is there anyway to tell by looking at it?

Probably not
Probably no way to tell by looking at the hull. I’ve got some old fiberglass boats from the late 70’s/early 80’s and they seem to have gotten fragile with age but they still paddle fine and I don’t think anything of it. For $250 it doesn’t really matter. The boat will work fine and it’s not going to sink you. You won’t need to baby it, just don’t abuse it.

I believe you said you’re new to the canoeing game. The most important thing is just get a boat and paddle it. Until you do you won’t know what you like and what you want. This boat looks like it will serve your current needs fine. Maybe it will be all you ever want or maybe you’ll decide to upgrade next year. Either way you can’t lose for the price.

Alan

UV damage might not go that deep,
but if an old FG boat gets flexy, it is probably from repeated pounding, even relatively mild pounding.