1990? MRC Whistler 17' 4" Kevlar Hybrid

Hello everyone. I’m new to canoeing and recently found a 1990? MRC Whistler 17’ 4" canoe in decent condition on craigslist for $300. I found MRC’s catalogue online so I have stats for the canoe but would like to know approx. what the canoe cost new and also any opinions on the canoe from anyone who has experience with them. We will mainly use the canoe for day trips but might want to occasionally do a 3 or 4 day slow river trip. How durable are these canoes? Any known problems with them? Good canoe for a beginner? What is the purpose of the sliding plastic seats? I like it because it only weighs about 50 lbs so it will be easy to cartop and carry. It has one small hole inside on the bottom that does not go all the way through. What is the best way to patch it?

Whistler
I test paddled one years ago. It was surprisingly stable but not all that fast. The layup is very tough for a hull with a foam core. The price is a bargain. Probably around 1500 new. I would guess 450 to 500 pounds as a maximum happy capacity. The river needs to be calm and slow to make this a reasonable choice. With a load, turning will be difficult and eddy lines will be tricky.

Whistler Too
Whistler was a neat boat. I t was an early swede-form rec boat, coming after Pat Moore’s Peter Pond II and Sawyer’s Yost designed X-17 and Dagger’s Scarborough designed Interlude.

It wasn’t as fast as expected but was a nice ride and featured a neat Jim Henry design concept. There is more variation in men’s weight than women’s and guys are usually bigger. [At least in our community.] Cool! Jim put the slider in the stern where it belongs.

I thought Whistler and Interlude shared a marketing issue. Both had low shear that made bow paddlers feel exposed. I miss 'em both too!

Test Paddled One…

– Last Updated: Aug-05-12 11:57 PM EST –