2 Kayaks & a Pickup Truck

Disclaimer: I am brand new to kayaking and brand new to trucks and not particularly mechanical, but I am trying! I need some help and I know you are the guys to ask!

I have two kayaks…one is 10’6" and the other other is 10’11." I bought 2 sets of Malone Sea Wings for my Hyudai SUV to transport the kayaks. I found that for two short women, this was STILL an extremely laborious process! I was NOT a fan! Furthermore, the wings would need to be uninstalled after every use to protect them from rain, sun and theft. Nope. No thanks.

So, I got impulsive and bought a pickup truck! It’s a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500 with a 6 foot bed. I love it! With the tailgate down, it’s about 8 feet of support with 2-3 feet of overhang. So, I thought I needed a truck bed extender and I bought a Boonedox. However, when I looped my cam straps through the cleats of my truck’s bed and through the carry handles of the stern, there was no way to wrap the cam straps around the actual boat, thus relying entirely on the bungee carry handles of the kayaks. Then, when when we went to support the overhang of the bow-end of the boats, they barely reached the “cross bar” of the extender, as it the extender extends just a bit too far out from the back of my truck with such short kayaks. I couldn’t wrap the cam straps around the kayaks here either, so I ended up threading the cam straps through the carry handles of the kayaks, looping them around the boone-dox “cross bar” and then threading them through the actual rear tow hooks that are built into my truck to either side of the hitch receiver. With this method, we did get the kayaks strapped down TIGHT and they did not shift or anything on our short journey. However, I was not loving that the cam straps aren’t actually tightened around the body of the kayak…just going through the carry handles…and I wasn’t loving that very little of the kayak actually rested on the extender!